CAFE 1201 Reviews

1201 Main Street, COLUMBIA SC

(803) 255-6292



Write a review

Rated 3.6 out of 5. How do you rate CAFE 1201?

The Gist : special, reasonable, great, good, friendly, frozen, delicious, excellent, awesome, cheapest

  • I love everything about Capital City Café. The food is wonderful. My family loves everything that comes out of Alex's kitchen. They also do a wonderful job catering. I have had several parties and used them. If I tell my guest the food is from Capital City Café, they get excited. They know that the food will be fantastic. What can I say. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.


    Comment on Bender's Review of CAFE 1201
    1. Teka ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

      2014-03-17 18:42:01

      Overpriced salads with one little cup of dressing. Then they want to charge you for an extra cup of dressing when you are already paying $7.49 for a salad that's mostly lettuce!!! I can go to Longhorns down the road, get sit down service, with a smile and a salad for about the same price as Cafe 1201.


      Comment on Teka's Review of CAFE 1201
      1. cessum ★ Poor 1 out of 5

        2013-09-25 23:23:48

        long lines, INCOMPETENT people on the register and overpriced food. no thanks.


        Comment on cessum's Review of CAFE 1201
        1. Grave ★ Poor 1 out of 5

          2013-09-20 21:24:26

          Went to Cafe1201 today and ordered lunch. The baking lady was behind the ounter licking her fingers every few minutes. I didn't make a scene, paid for my food, threw it away, and left. I will NEVER attempt the eat here again! Not to mention the sandwich maker was not wearing any gloves while preparing food. What a NASTY restaurant! How they have an A on the door I do not understand!!! For anyone reading this review, DO NOT EVER EAT THERE!!! There is NO HYGINE involved!!!



          Comment on Grave's Review of CAFE 1201
          1. Great Food (Especially the Salads), Reasonable prices!


            Comment on Chrls's Review of CAFE 1201
            1. I am an expert on all thing Cafe 1201...well almost. I eat breakfast and lunch there almost every day of the work week. I sometimes take home the day's special and eat it for dinner. I have purchased cakes for several occasions, purchased baked goods as Christmas gifts, and most recently served their chicken salad at a party at my home. All I can say is,


              Comment on Combomet's Review of CAFE 1201
              1. Beyond excellent service and outstanding food. Definitely coming here again and would recommend it to everyone I know.


                Comment on ALi's Review of CAFE 1201
                1. The food is great and I eat there all the time. The staff is friendly and helpful! From their chicken salad to their sweets it gets a 10 from me!


                  Comment on Kasouf's Review of CAFE 1201
                  1. I have eaten at 1201 several times and have always thought the food was GREAT!!! The people who occupy that building are fortunate to have GOOD food right there in the building. The prices are reasonable but the main thing is the delicious food. I plan many more outings there in the future.


                    Comment on Ctcom's Review of CAFE 1201
                    1. Hoshi ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                      2013-05-04 17:37:19 /

                      I would NEVER eat there again! Everything is frozen, and made for the cheapest ingredients for the cheapest suppliers (SAMS CLUB). All baked goods are frozen, sometimes frozen multiple times (frozen over and over until its all sold). The owner is a asshole with a major anger management problem, and dont even get me started on what goes on in the kitchen where guests cant see!



                      CAFE 1201's response to this review: .
                      Comment on Hoshi's Review of CAFE 1201
                      1. in response to: Cafe 1201 can be a bit ...

                        Cafe 1201 is so two faced its not even funny. Everything is frozen at one point, if not multiple times. Food is saved and served that should be thrown away at the end


                        Comment on Hoshi's Review of CAFE 1201
                        1. Greatest ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                          2013-03-07 19:44:26 /

                          I would never eat any of the baked goods made by this establishment. I have seen on several occasions the staff (female) that makes the baked goods licking the utensils and her fingers while baking. What you do at home is your business, but you're not baking cookies with the grandkids and letting them lick the bowl at work. Disgusting!



                          CAFE 1201's response to this review:
                          Comment on Greatest's Review of CAFE 1201
                          1. go screw yourself and maybe ask them to change the channel you liberal freak



                            CAFE 1201's response to this review: All comments are welcomed but please keep it civil.
                            Comment on Aa2's Review of CAFE 1201
                            1. in response to: I work in the building and ...

                              I enjoy the fact that Cafe 1201 has FOX News on the TV. I am just sick of the other Lame stream media that I am subjected to at other establishments. It is refreshing to see and hear fair and balanced news. The food is always good and fresh. I have never had a bad meal there. I have also ordered their cakes for special events and have never been dissappointed, in fact people commented on the goodness of the cakes and told them where to purchase quality baked goods.



                              Comment on Vly's Review of CAFE 1201
                              1. Chaude ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                2012-04-26 20:19:02

                                I work in the building at 1201 Main and I thought the food was good both times I went there, but I refuse to eat anywhere that subjects its customers to FOX News on the TV. I have heard people complain about it before; I simply don't go there. FOX is divisive and represents what is worst about our society today.


                                Comment on Chaude's Review of CAFE 1201
                                1. go screw yourself and maybe ask them to change the channel ... »more
                              2. in response to: I am the owner of this ...

                                The food here is AWESOME, and delivery only takes MINUTES if you're downtown! The prices are respectful of the economy we are in without lacking in the area of service or taste. Trust me, you will NOT regret dining, especially if you have those awesome fries. :-) -Wisdohm


                                Comment on Youthful's Review of CAFE 1201
                                1. I am the owner of this restaurant and just learned of the review by Adverto on Sept. 29, 2011. She was an employee who was 'let go' on Sept 28, 2011 because of incompetence and talking back to customers. She passed herself off as a pastry chef who we later learned cook by 'smell' because she wouldn't eat chocolate and couldn't eat gluten.
                                  What finished food we buy frozen is hamburgers, hotdogs, breaded chicken patties and french fries.
                                  We are located in an office building using electricity as our sole source of energy. No gas, no gas grill. Hence the only viable solution we have found to provide quick sale hamburgers is to bake them and then hold them in a solution of beef broth (and other seasonings) before passing them through an impinger oven to melt the cheese.

                                  If you have read this and the other review and have never tried our restaurant, please come by and ask for me - Jim, and let me buy you your sandwich or salad or soup and then you can decide.
                                  Now I must press the 'excellent' button to register this comment.


                                  Comment on Bucky's Review of CAFE 1201
                                  1. The food here is AWESOME , and delivery only takes MINUTES if ... »more
                                2. Eagles ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                  2011-09-30 00:51:05

                                  For all of those reading before eating at this place- a majority of their food is not homemade. A lot of it is precooked and comes in frozen. The desserts are made there, but if they spent a quarter amount of their time on the real lunch food, they would have a bigger clientele.
                                  The burgers come in frozen and then are baked then soaked in beef broth. So if you want a good burger, do not go there. I don't even eat meat and I know it's just wrong.


                                  Comment on Eagles's Review of CAFE 1201
                                  1. Great prices for great, and homemade, food. Try the cheesebugers, they are made fresh and come with seasoned fries. I also get the salads because they are fresh and made to order. I also love the tomato basil soup and homemade quiche.


                                    Comment on Metropolis's Review of CAFE 1201
                                    1. Cafe 1201 has good, homemade food at a reasonable price. I especially recommend the blueberry scone muffin and turkey and brie baguette. Of course it's more expensive than Wendys, but everything is made in the restaurant. Overall, a good bet if you're in the area.


                                      Comment on Cochinchine's Review of CAFE 1201
                                      1. Icebox ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                                        2011-04-04 19:15:55

                                        I work in the building and have only recently started purchasing from the Cafe since I normally bring my lunch. But hit and miss defines it...a raw muffin one day, a burned one the next. Soup that was undercooked, cake that was a little stale. BUT, they are super nice and very accommodating when they get something wrong. And normally, their deserts are excellent.


                                        Comment on Icebox's Review of CAFE 1201
                                        1. I enjoy the fact that Cafe 1201 has FOX News on ... »more
                                      2. I think their food is of great quality and good tasting. Their cakes are to die for!!! I always order their cakes for special occasions. Triple chocolate cake was a hit at my husbands 50th birthday party, also the orange zest cake and lemon chiffon. From now on I will be purchasing my cakes from Cafe 1201.



                                        Comment on comedo's Review of CAFE 1201
                                        1. Dhabba ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

                                          2010-11-16 21:01:35

                                          Its overpriced. The food is hit or miss but they are super friendly! Its nice if you work in the building and forget to bring lunch and need something fast. I get their salads.


                                          Comment on Dhabba's Review of CAFE 1201
                                          1. Dhabba ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

                                            2010-11-15 15:49:08

                                            Cafe 1201 can be a bit hit or miss. I usually get the daily special because their menu is pricey and the daily special is usually the most bang for your buck. Unfortunately, it can be a gamble as I've had some pretty awful specials, though some delicious ones as well. I paid $4 for a cup (not a bowl) of chili one day, only to walk upstairs and see that our receptionist had bought the same amount of chili from Wendy's for $1.50. I even paid extra for a roll substitution and they wouldn't give me the crackers that go with the chili. I think they would appeal to more if they lower their prices a little (cause the food ain't THAT good) and stick to what works, like that amazing meatloaf with mashed potatoes and green beans. Oh, and don't order the shrimp and grits. The shrimp was served cold, andouille sausage gravy was off, and it was served over white breakfast grits, blech.


                                            Comment on Dhabba's Review of CAFE 1201
                                            1. Cafe 1201 is so two faced its not even funny . Everything ... »more
                                          How would you rate CAFE 1201?
                                          Add a photo (Optional)
                                          The Fine Print: These reviews are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.